My travel chronicles.

While I was doing school today I ran through an old manuscript of a “report” I made when I was 14. During a trip to Kansas, my mom had asked us to write a report on it, the places we visited and what we did during the trip as a school project, so I made a fun journal report on our trip. I had so much fun reading that again, I hope you like it too!

*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Day one:

9:30 a.m.
We are traveling through Texas now, heading toward Fort Worth (one of our main points of destination before reaching Kansas City, MO.
We left El Paso at 8:00 a.m. this morning and have been traveling for one and a half hours. So far, it isn’t very interesting as all you can see for miles on end is mountains, shrubs, dirt,  mountains, shrubs, dirt… not to complain though. I guess the mountains are quite interesting… but my time is mostly spent dozing off and listening to my MP3 player.

12:00 p.m.
After our “breakfast”, consisting of peanut butter and ham sandwiches we are now stopping at a rest area to stretch our legs, and go to the bathroom. The girls are going back in the camper to watch a movie.
Well…they were going to anyway. My dad just decided that leaving the laptop in their hands just wouldn’t do, so they have to content themselves with Polly Pockets.
After stretching myself on the couch and feeling quite content with my newly acquired space I set off to pluck my eyebrows. Something that, lacking anything else better to do, (like read an interesting book that I haven’t read yet, though wishing I could) set off to do. After a few minutes of that and feeling a little cross-eyed from seeing myself through a teeny mirror for quite some time and finishing the job anyway, I lay the mirror and tweezer down, get my MP3 player and start to dose of…

1:00 p.m.
WHAM! I am suddenly woken from my sleep by a sudden lack of couch and the earth’s gravity pull. I look around and find I fell off the car’s back seat! Enduring some laugh from my mom and dad (and partly myself) after my fall, there is no more sleep for me! I look back through the window to see what the girls are doing, something I had done before falling asleep. Las time I had found them playing, of course, Polly Pockets. But now they apparently either fell asleep or are playing quietly behind the couch.

1:45 p.m.
Of course, by now I’m hungry so I ask my mom for the bread, ham, cheese and mayonnaise. After making one and a half sandwich for myself and one for my dad, I feel a lot better.

3:30 p.m.
After driving, driving, driving, and driving, we finally stop at a rest area.
After doing what you do in rest areas I go to the camper along with the girls to watch a movie, Ice Age 2 to be exact, on the laptop. It was quite fun… if you don’t count the  sun’s ray’s right in your face while you’re watching the movie, then you’re okay.

4:45 p.m.
The movie is over, and the battery is dead anyway, so we put the laptop away and get together to talk, mostly about weird dream we’ve had and also other things that is only between us said.
We are also a little crazy now. Tickles, tug wars, screams and gooffyness. Of course, after a while in such a teeny space those things get on your nerves we stop pretty soon.

6:00 p.m.
After some dozing we stop at a gas station where we fill up the car’s tank. My parent’s give us the other battery of the laptop so we are able to watch Prince Caspian by vote. By now the sun is setting so there are no more sun problems anymore. Such relief!

7:00 p.m.
Oh well, boo hoo. The battery is dead and the movie hadn’t finished quite yet, but oh well. We wouldn’t be able to play it even if we wanted to…when it’s dead, it’s dead! (Gahaha, I’ll have to comment on this part. Corny I know…haha!)

8:00 p.m.
With nothing to do we started fooling around for a little bit but then got tired after a little while. We started to sing some songs…well, I did anyway, while enjoying the brightly lit Christmas lights on the houses we pass by that haven’t been taken down yet even though it’s January. The only thing that is a bit annoying is that the only comfortable way to watch them right now is leaning against the window, so I have to be holding my breath because every time I DO breath the window get’s full of mist and blocks my view!!!
Eh…okay, so that was quite minor and you really didn’t need to know that…but a burden of my shoulders is no burden right?… err…right? (Laughs and rolls eyes…)

9:00 p.m.
After a while my eyes start to get heavy so I trade places with Annie; leaving me with Sunny and Misty on the floor covered with small mattress and blankets and Annie on the “bed”. It’s kinda cold so Annie puts all the jackets on top of her and us three pull a blanket on top of ourselves, and slowly, slowly, drift off to sleep.

Day Two.

12:00 p.m.
I suddenly wake up from my sleep. It’s still dark outside and not to mention, COLD. I shiver and pull the blanket closer. Suddenly, I see trees overhead and the car is slowly rolling to a stop, one of the reasons why I woke up from my sleep. I sit up just as dad comes and lifts the camper window informing us that this is going to be our last stop for a while. Even though it takes time to process through my sleepy, slow working mind I catch the meaning of what he said: He’s going to keep on DRIVING!?!?! For a moment I stare at him like a zombie and wonder if he’s feeling all right, or gone a little crazy. After all, this cold can easily do that to anybody.
My thoughts are interrupted by Misty and Sunny agreeing and saying that they need to use the restroom. Begrudgingly I slowly get up and realize that this is my favorite rest area! (Oh, we’re in Oklahoma by the way)
Bummer! Why do we always have to cross it during nighttime!?
My thought’s are interrupted again by Misty wailing what she can’t find her other shoe. It’s so cold right now the least thing I would worry about is her shoe, so I put mine on and crawl out of the trailer trying to focus on walking to the bathroom, making it there and going back without tripping or freezing.
By now Misty just said that she can “hop on one foot” till she reaches the bathroom. (the one that has the shoe of course) I seriously doubt she’ll make it that far on just one foot, but desperate situations call for desperate measures.

12:05
My thinking proves to be right. Soon Misty calls me as we stumble half asleep toward the bathroom, exclaiming that her foot is full of thorns. “Now why on earth would it be full of thorns?” I think as I march up to her. She leans on me to take the thorns out of her sock, apparently, she was walking tip toe on that foot. I offer to carry her piggyback style to the bathroom but she shakes her head and says that she can just put her right foot over my left foot and walk three-legged. (A kind way of saying no, but still a smart idea anyway!) We do this going and coming back. Once we’re done we quickly huddle down on our warm blankets once more to fall asleep.

4:30 a.m.
I am awakened by the car loosing it’s speed as we slowly roll to a stop. I quickly get up but immediately regret doing so. This time it is REALLY freezing! I don’t want to get out of my covers, but I do anyway. I sit up to see where we are and why we stopped, to my amazement, we’re in Wal-Mart! Why on earth would we be in Wal-Mart???
I soon find out though, what else, but bathroom needs! I gingerly step outside and the cold air immediately rips through my jacket. I start shivering. Even the cold inside the camper is better than this!
we quickly march inside with our jackets and scarves. I wonder if the guard standing inside is thinking if we are out of our minds, after all, what is a woman and a bunch of zombie looking kids doing out at 4:30 in the morning? We just smile and say good morning even though it feels that “good night” would be more appropriate.
Then again… maybe not…
We quickly get through and walk back toward the car, again we pass by the guard. I hope he doesn’t think we’ve stolen anything or thinks we’re nuts…which he probably does…sigh…
Luckily, we don’t have to stay in the camper anymore and I am seated beside mom and dad in the front seat with the heater on…ahhh! Heat, wonderful heat!

6:00 a.m.
The sun hasn’t risen yet and I have been having to keep my dad awake by talking to him since my mom is asleep. On other occasions, I would have been delighted to talk and talk…and talk… but I’m really tired right now and my throat really hurts, so I don’t feel like talking as much as I’d like too…

7:00 a.m.
The sun is finally starting to come up! After all that time of staring into miles of darkness, light feels really good for a change!

7:30 a.m.
To my amazement, I find out we already passed the check point which is only about one hour from Kansas City, which means dear readers, that we’re really, really close to our destination!

7:40
By now my mom is trying to find a phone to call my grandparent’s to tell them that we are arriving very soon, much earlier than planned. But alas, the only pay phone we do find doesn’t work. (stupid cellphones…ruining the payphone business here! :P) We try several times to convince my dad to try to find one, but he doesn’t want to.

8:15 a.m.
Finally, there it is! Westover Road!
The sounds “Yay!” and “We finally made it!” are heard in the truck. We’re finally here!….
errr…we were anyway. Apparently, there was ice on the road so as my dad tried to steer the tires skidded and we had to go across to the next road and give a U-turn. But hey, after 21 hours of driving a few seconds more won’t hurt.

8:17 a.m.
Okay, so now we REALLy are here.
SURPRISE!
Not knowing we were coming at this hour my grandparents aren’t really prepared and we just ruined their surprise with one of our own! …snicker, snicker…

All in all it was a great trip! Though I’m not quite looking forward to the trip back just yet…
See you later on the road!

*~*~*~*~*~*

Hahaha did you like it??? You’d better have, this took me a WHOLE hour to type!
I think it’s fun looking back at old things you did or wrote, sort of like a time machine in a way…. ya think?

About Windy

Ha! You want ME to describe myself in a 140 word box??? Think again! Just go to the "About Me" section and find out more!
This entry was posted in Events. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My travel chronicles.

  1. Flo says:

    Haha cool, wow it took an hour to type it? I wonder how long it took to write it…

  2. Misty says:

    jaja yah i remember all that… i read it in the papers i found them on the desk.. it was fun going there except it was cold 😦

Leave a Reply

